Home › Universities › Kerala › Calicut University SDE
University of Calicut, Centre for Distance and Online Education (formerly School of Distance Education)Malappuram, Kerala
Fees and rules checked on 23 October 2026 from the university’s website pages saved on 8 October 2026; the site didn’t load on 23 October
Admission: the CDOE site gave 12 October 2026, with a ₹500 fine, as the last date for 2026-27, and UGC-DEB’s last date was 13 October 2026. No January 2027 notice was on the site when we last read it (8 October 2026); it didn’t load on 23 October 2026.
The University of Calicut, set up in 1968, is Kerala’s largest university, and its Centre for Distance and Online Education (formerly the School of Distance Education) has taught by correspondence since 1981. Its online degrees began in February 2026, with classes, recorded lectures and study material on a learning platform.
Length not stated
₹22,000a semester
₹16,000 tuition and ₹6,000 study material (our sum); Scheme B only, with online exams
Get fee detailsLength not stated
₹5,250a semester, Scheme A
₹3,150 tuition and ₹2,100 study material (our sum); ₹6,300 a semester in Scheme B
Get fee details2 years
₹4,200a semester, Scheme A
₹2,625 tuition and ₹1,575 study material (our sum); ₹5,250 a semester in Scheme B
Get fee details4 years
₹2,625a semester, Scheme A
₹1,575 tuition and ₹1,050 study material (our sum); ₹3,675 a semester in Scheme B
Get fee details4 years
₹2,625a semester, Scheme A
Same fee as the BA History: ₹3,675 a semester in Scheme B
Get fee details4 years
₹3,675a semester, Scheme A
₹2,100 tuition and ₹1,575 study material (our sum); ₹4,725 a semester in Scheme B
Get fee detailsFees from the CDOE’s fee structure for August 2026. Each semester figure is our sum of the tuition and study material fees. At admission you also pay an admission fee of ₹1,050, a registration fee of ₹630 (₹265 for SC/ST) and a caution deposit of ₹1,575 for UG, ₹2,100 for MA and M.Com or ₹5,000 for the MBA. The exam fee is ₹210 to ₹525 a paper, and other exam fees are notified at exam registration. All fees can rise 5% a year. Eligible SC, ST and OEC students don’t pay admission, tuition, study material or exam fees. An MA in Arabic Language and Literature is also offered.
The first online batch. The PG notice gave 27 March 2026 as the last date with a fine, and 1,459 students registered.
Registration opened on 8 July 2026 and the last date, extended with a ₹500 fine, was 12 October 2026.
No notice on the CDOE site when we last read it (8 October 2026).
Portal: linked from the university’s website. Paper copies of documents aren’t needed unless the university asks. Contact: 0494 2407356 (CDOE), 0494 2660600 (SUVEGA help desk), the university’s email.
A pass in Kerala’s Higher Secondary (HSE) or an equivalent exam that makes you eligible for higher studies.
Any UG degree with at least 50% aggregate marks or equivalent CGPA. OBC and OEC candidates get up to 5% relaxation.
A BA with Economics (or a related main subject) and 50% marks, a B.Sc with Statistics or Mathematics and 70%, or a B.Com and 60%. OBC and OEC candidates get up to 5% relaxation; SC, ST and PWD candidates need only a pass.
In Scheme A, exams are held offline at designated affiliated college centres. In Scheme B, they are held online with webcam proctoring; the MBA is Scheme B only.
Self-learning material is given once you pay the fee, and the learning platform has video lectures, e-content and assignments. The syllabus is the same as the university’s regular courses.
The exam fee is ₹210 a paper for UG and ₹265 for PG in Scheme A, and ₹420 and ₹525 in Scheme B. Other exam fees are announced at exam registration.
UGC recognition. UGC-DEB’s 2026-27 list of universities entitled to offer online programmes includes the University of Calicut with 10: the BA (Honours) in History and Sociology, B.Com (Honours), MA in Political Science, Economics, History, Sociology and Arabic, M.Com (Finance) and MBA (Human Resource Management). Its distance (ODL) recognition ran up to January 2026, and it is not on the 2026-27 ODL lists.
₹22,000 a semester in tuition and study material (₹16,000 and ₹6,000, our sum), plus ₹6,680 at admission (admission fee, registration fee and a ₹5,000 caution deposit) and ₹525 for each exam paper. Fees can rise 5% a year.
Both have online classes. In Scheme A you write exams at designated centres; in Scheme B the exams are online and proctored, and the tuition fee is higher. The MBA runs only in Scheme B, and blind students can join only Scheme A.
Not for 2026-27. Its ODL recognition ran up to January 2026, and UGC-DEB’s 2026-27 lists include only its 10 online programmes.
No notice was on the CDOE site when we last read it (8 October 2026). The first online batch started in February 2026.
A+, with a CGPA of 3.45, valid from 21 September 2022 to 20 September 2027, as stated on the CDOE site.
Sreenarayanaguru Open University in Kollam is on UGC-DEB’s 2026-27 distance (ODL) list, MG University in Kottayam runs online degrees, and IGNOU admits in January and July. UGC-entitled private online MBAs start at ₹67,000 in total (Mangalayatan University, fee checked 17 October 2026).